The Nativity CD


Patrick’s eleventh album featuring the premiere recordings of twenty new Christmas works, including the two collections The Nativity and Four Christmas Motets plus other works which tell the Christmas story.

Bulk deal
Quantity Discount Discounted price
2 £1.00 £11.00
3 + £2.00 £10.00

Multibuy CD Discount

Category: Tag:

Listen & Buy Online



“This endearing set of Christmas pieces isn’t just music: it’s message, it’s poetry and celebration.” “Brilliant melodic figurations.” Sonograma Magazine

The world premiere recording of brand new Christmas choral works from Patrick Hawes.

Patrick has teamed up with the excellent Voce Chamber Choir of Connecticut to create an album of twenty brand-new Christmas choral works.  Specially written for the choir, the first collection and album title, sets words by Patrick’s poet brother Andrew.  The Nativity, for unaccompanied choir, moves through the Christmas nativity scene exploring the drama of this momentous moment in human history.  For the second collection, Patrick has set Four Christmas Motets;  the fragile ancient poetry giving rise to tender and heartfelt music for unaccompanied choir.  The album goes on to explore the Christmas story through various texts, old and new, in works that are set to become extremely popular with choirs around the world.


“Christmas is my absolute favourite time of year and it has been a joy to set such inspiring and dramatic words to music.  The variety of texts – from ancient to modern – are all so relevant for today because they speak of eternal truths and the mystery of the Christmas story.  I am thrilled with how Voce and their director Mark Singleton have brought a freshness of approach and musical excellence to their interpretation of this exciting project.” Patrick Hawes


“This album is the fruit of an extraordinary partnership between composer, conductor, and choir.  Composer Patrick Hawes created a collection of sublime works with Voce in mind, and our collaboration with him during the recording sessions was a source of great joy for all involved.  Working closely together, we endeavored to capture the vibrancy and tenderness of Patrick’s compositions, as well as the magical texts crafted by Patrick’s brother Andrew.  We offer this album in tribute to Patrick Hawes and his continuing contribution of choral works celebrated throughout the world.” Mark Singleton



1. What Child Is This? (3.36)
2. In Bethlehem, That Noble Place (2.42)
3. This Endernight (2.59)

The Nativity
4. The Manger (3.08)
5. The Infant (2.17)
6. The Oxen (3.55)
7. The Shepherds (2.56)
8. The Star (3.22)
9. The Magi (3.26)

10. Joseph’s Carol (3.25)
11. Still, Still the Night (3.40)
12. Behold The King (4.37)

Four Christmas Motets
13. Virga Jesse (3.43)
14. Puer Natus (2.00)
15. Nesciens Mater (3.32)
16. Gaudete Omnes (1.55)

17. The Heart of Mary (3.09)
18. Minstrels (2.57)
19. Lullay My Liking (3.02)
20. The Colours of Christmas (2.50)

(Total duration: 63.22)

Release date: October 2023

Patrick Hawes composer

Andrew Hawes librettist (tracks 4-12, 17, 20)

Mark Singleton conductor
Voce choir

Soprano Jennifer Lamson*, Liz Bologna, Jennifer McCann, Jennifer Ferrand-Kelly, Ali Singleton, Ashley Zadravecz
Alto Sarah Chassé*, Sarah Armstrong, Gretchen Collins, Celia Russo, Margaret Tyler
Tenor Jack Anthony Pott*, Adam Atkins, Chris Gallerani, Floyd Higgins, Joshua Hummel, Alex O’Neil
Bass Tom Cooke*, Dylan Armstrong, Brian Jones, Patrick Nay, Andrey Stolyarov, Jermaine Woodard

Stephen Scarlatto organ (tracks 3, 10, 12)
Patrick Hawes piano (track 20)

Patrick Hawes producer
Scott Metcalfe recording engineer/editor/pre-master/post-production (all tracks except 15)
Justin Kurtz recording engineer (track 15)

Signum Classics record label

Recorded at Immanuel Congregational Church, Hartford, Connecticut, USA  in January 2023, except track 15 recorded live December 2022.


Go to Top